Wednesday, August 5, 2015

"The Escort" (Shamed, #3) by Laura Marie Altom


Enter to Win a
Loveswept & FLIRT Mug and
Select Ebook Bundle


THE ESCORT
Shamed Series #3
Laura Marie Altom
Releasing August 11th, 2015
Loveswept


In Laura Marie Altom’s scorching new Shamed novel, perfect for fans of J. Kenner and Tracy Wolff, a broken heart pushes a rugged loner to the breaking point—until a not-so-innocent affair changes everything.

When the woman he loves marries billionaire Liam Stone, Nathan Black swears off dating and playing by the rules. He’s also tired of being broke. His new gig as a male escort isn’t exactly legal, but the cash will help him build a solid future. Then there’s Carol Moore, Liam’s personal assistant. She and Nathan always seem to get paired up at Stone family functions—and always seem to end up in bed together. She’s definitely intriguing. But how could a good girl like Carol settle down with a screw-up like Nathan?

After Carol’s dreamy boss gets hitched, crushing any chance of them getting back together, she finds herself hooking up with the bride’s best friend. Nathan is hot, adventurous, and just a little bit dangerous. But when one of their sexy games goes too far, Carol discovers how out of control Nathan’s life really is. And before long Carol is forced to choose between her safe old life and the bad boy who makes her feel like the woman she’s meant to be.

BUY NOW


 


Laura Marie Altom is the author of more than forty books in three different genres. Now that her kids are in college, Altom spends her days writing and chasing after a menagerie of pets: a mini long-haired dachshund named Cocoa, a Yorkie named Daisy, a mutt named Sweet Pea, and Domino—a black-and-white stealth cat she rarely sees. She’s happily married to her college sweetheart (go Hogs!), and when night falls, she steals a few romantic moments for herself with her own hunky cover stud.




Guestpost by Laura Marie Altom

Can a Story Ever Have Too Much Sex?
Not gonna lie—by my standards, The Escort, is the hottest book I’ve written. Over the course of my career, I’ve penned fifty novels for four major publishers and lately, I’ve even published a couple titles on my own. Breaking that down, with most of my stories featuring at least two sex scenes, this means I’ve written at least a hundred sex acts.

A dear friend of mine who once wrote straight romance, but has since transitioned to the inspirational market—meaning zero sex scenes—said she finds not having to write them quite liberating. The lack of physicality gives her more story time to commit to the fleeting intimacies of a lingering glance or fleeting touch.

While I wholeheartedly agree that these seemingly insignificant moments can be huge in the early stages of romance, while writing The Escort, I found that initially, Nathan and Carol, used sex as their own special means of communication. Both characters were on the rebound, and out to prove to not only each other that they were still desirable, but perhaps more importantly, to themselves.
Another first I tackled in The Escort, was the fact that at the story’s beginning, both characters were still in love with Liam and Ella from my Shamed series’ previous two books, Control and Possess. The Escort’s opening scene wrote itself. I’m not sure I’ve ever written a chapter so fast, almost as if the characters had been waiting deep inside me to have their stories told. But then they stopped “talking”, and I realized that as is the case in many rebound relationships, sex is all they shared.

I did some reading on rebound relationships, and to a certain extent, sex becomes almost a third person within the tenuous rebound relationship. Carol and Nathan prove to be no different. Yet, as their relationship grows, their sex changes. With a certain perceived stability, their sexual bonds soften and grow more intimate in an emotional way, as opposed to having been purely physical. Yet later in the story, as that emotional bond becomes ever more unstable, so does the sex, until by the story’s end, their relationship comes full circle, culminating in the sort of deviant sex act the two engaged in during their relationship’s rocky start.

 Many times during the writing of Nathan and Carol’s story, I found myself surprised by how large of a role sex played. In a book titled, The Escort, readers might carry certain expectations, such as the hero isn’t a hero at all by being part of the sex trade, but I hope they’ll immerse themselves in the story with open minds and hearts, and realize there is far more going on with Nathan’s “job” than even he ever initially believes . . .



 a Rafflecopter giveaway